The Vienna Conference - Programme

Sunday, 11 October

Arrival of foreign participants

Evening reception, given by the Mayor of Vienna, Dr. Michael Häupl

Monday, 12 October

Plenary Session 1: Opening ceremony

Opening addresses

Dr. Heinz Fischer, President, Austrian Parliament, Opening Address
Dr. Benita Ferrero-Waldner, Austrian Secretary of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Univ. Prof. Paulette Pierson-Mathy, President, ENIASA

Keynote addresses

Southern African - European cooperation in a globalising World
Dr. Frene Ginwala, Speaker, National Assembly of the Republic of South Africa

Democracy, human rights and social justice - the main goals for a renewed global cooperation
Dr. Alfred Gusenbauer, Chairman, Subcommittee on Development Issues, Austrian Parliament

Contributions from the floor

Rapporteurs: Walter Viegas, Development Workshop, Angola,
Luca de Fraia, Assoziacione per un Sudafrica Democratico, Italy

Agora 1: Structural adjustment - means or obstacle to poverty eradication?

Chair: Sharon Dijksma, Member of Parliament, The Netherlands
Panelists: Leya Chatta Chipepa, Zambian Association for Research and Development, Kumi Naidoo, South African National NGO Coalition, Ataman Aksoy, World Bank
Rapporteurs: Eugenia Papamakariou, Greek Committee for Democratic Solidarity,
Japhet Moonde, Public Servants Union/Zambia Congress of Trade Unions

Agora 2: Social standards versus freedom of investment: A contribution to the social rights debate

Chair: Christopher Kuruneri, Member of Parliament, Zimbabwe
Panelists: C.R. Haikali, General Secretary, National Union of Namibian Workers Nhlanga Masuku, President, Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce, Ramesh Jeewoolall, Speaker, National Assembly of Mauritius, John Evans, General Secretary, Trade Union Advisory Committee/OECD
Rapporteurs: Arja Alho, Member of Parliament, Finland,
Herbert Jauch, Labour Research & Resource Institute, Namibia

Agora 3: EU/Southern African economic relations - a model?

Chair: Dirk Hansohm, Namibian Economic Policy Reserach Centre
Panelists: Dot Keet, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Southern African Studies, University of the Western Cape, South Africa Ben Turok, Member of the National Assembly, South Africa, Hannes Swoboda, Member of the European Parliament, Anne Graumans, Researcher, Amsterdam
Rapporteurs: Gottfried Wellmer, Koordination Südliches Afrika (FRG),
Flora Musonda, Economic and Social Research Foundation (Tanzania)

Evening Reception, given by the President of the Austrian Parliament, Dr Heinz Fischer.

Tuesday, 13 October

Plenary Session 2: Political dialogue and the role of parliamentarians and the civil society

Chair: Frene Ginwala, Speaker, National Assembly of the Republic of South Africa
Panelists: Per Gransted, European Parliamentarians for Africa/AWEPA, Jeanette Minnie, Media Institute for Southern Africa, Windhoek, Mohao Pheko, Women's National Coalition of S.A., Johannesburg, Cyril Ndebele, Speaker, Parliament of Zimbabwe, A. K. Makhalira, Deputy Speaker, National Assembly of Malawi
Rapporteurs: Elisio Macamo, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Moçambique,
Inge Jäger, Member of Parliament, Austria

Agora 4: Debt issues in Southern Africa: Lack of legitimacy and economic dependence?

Chair: Robbie Kasuba, Member of the National Assembly, Zambia
Panelists: Opa Kapijimpanga, Afrodad, Zimbabwe Molefe Tsele, Ecumenical Service for Economic Transformation, South Africa, Joe Hanlon, Journalist, United Kingdom
Rapporteurs: Martina Neuwirth, Eurodad, Austria,
José Luis Cabaço, Researcher, Moçambique

Agora 5: Addressing the roots of conflicts and instability

Chair: Tess Kingham, Member of the House of Commons, United Kingdom
Panelists: Liz Clegg, Saferworld, United Kingdom, John Stewart, Catholic Commission for Justice & Peace, Zimbabwe, Sergio Viera, Member of the National Assembly, Mozambique, Paolo Jorge, Member of the People's Assembly, Angola
Rapporteurs: Peter Hermes, Netherlands Institute for Southern Africa,
Solomon Lechesa Tsenoli, Member of the National Assembly, South Africa

Evening dinner, hosted by the Regional Governor of Lower Austria, Erwin Pröll

Wednesday, 14 October

Plenary Session 3: European Union - Southern Africa: Towards renewed cooperation?

Keynote address

The relations of the European Union with the Southern African Development Community -
Prospects for the Future
Michel Rocard MEP, Chairman, Development Committee of the European Parliament

Chair: Ben Jackson, Action for Southern Africa, United Kingdom
Panelists: Rob Davies, Member of the National Assembly, South Africa, Simba Makoni, Chief Executive, Makonsult, former SADC Secretary General, Zimbabwe, Moutlakgolo Nwako, Speaker of the National Assembly of Botswana

Conclusions of the Chair (to be submitted to the Ministerial Conference)
presented by Alfred Gusenbauer (Austrian Parliament) and Paulette Pierson-Mathy (ENIASA)

Closure of the conference & farewell reception, hosted by the Austrian Economic Chamber

A comprehensive Report on the conference is available.


Copyright © 2017 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice