April 27, 2005

Electoral law approved

The National Assembly has finally approved the new Electoral Bill, during a plenary session in which prevailed the majority, after successive postponement in the final voting of the diploma. The last draft-bill on the Electoral Legislative Package was passed with 120 votes in favour, 60 against and three abstentions. Thus it is overcome the disagreement by the opposition group relatively to the composition of the National Electoral Commission (CNE) that took three successive postponements of the Bill's final voting. The future CNE will have 11 members integrated by various personalities of recognised moral capacity, from which two indicated by the President of the Republic, six by the National Assembly, a judge elected by the plenary of the Supreme Court and two representatives from the Ministry of Territorial Administration and from the National Council of Mass Media. Still, according to the approved Bill, from the six personalities indicated by the National Assembly, three will be chosen by a party or coalition of parties in the Parliament and the remaining from the opposition group. (Angola Press Agency, Luanda)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news/2005/2005-112.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice