President appoints acting ministers

President Mugabe has appointed eight ministers to head ministries in an acting capacity following the termination of executive appointments of some ministers who failed to secure parliamentary seats and were subsequently not appointed to the Senate as non-constituency members. According to a schedule seen by The Herald, Minister of Indigenisation and Empowerment Cde Munyaradzi Paul Mangwana is the Acting Minister of Information and Publicity, taking over from Cde Sikhanyiso Ndlovu. Cde Ndlovu failed to secure a House of Assembly seat in Pelandaba-Mpopoma where he represented Zanu PF in the March 2008 harmonised elections. Cde Mangwana, who is also Chivi Central Member of the House of Assembly, acted as Minister of Information and Publicity following the death of Cde Tichaona Jokonya in 2006. Minister of Defence Cde Sydney Sekeramayi is the Acting Minister of Mines and Mining Development, taking over from Cde Amos Midzi, who lost in the Epworth House of Assembly constituency to Mr Eliah Jembere of the MDC-T. Minister of Economic Development Cde Sylvester Nguni is the Acting Minister of Agriculture following the departure of Cde Rugare Gumbo. Cde Gumbo lost in Zanu PF primaries to Cde Makhosini Hlongwane in Mberengwa East House of Assembly constituency.

The Minister of Small to Medium Enterprises Development, Cde Sithembiso Nyoni, is the Acting Minister of Women’s Affairs, Gender and Community Development, taking over from Cde Oppah Muchinguri. Cde Muchinguri lost to Mr Trevor Saruwaka in Mutasa Central House of Assembly constituency. Mashonaland East Governor and Resident Minister Cde Aeneas Chigwedere is continuing as the Minister of Education, Sport and Culture. Manicaland Governor and Resident Minister Cde Christopher Mushohwe also continues as Acting Minister of Transport and Communications. Cde Chigwedere and Cde Mushohwe, by virtue of being provincial governors, are non-constituency senators though they failed to win parliamentary seats.

Non-constituency senator Cde Patrick Chinamasa is now the Acting Minister of Finance, taking over from Cde Samuel Mumbengegwi, who lost to Cde Josiah Hungwe in Zanu PF primaries in Chivi Senate constituency. Another non-constituency senator, Cde Joseph Made, becomes the Acting Minister of Water Resources and Infrastructural Development, taking over from Cde Munacho Mutezo. President Mugabe last week terminated the executive appointments of Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers who failed to secure parliamentary seats before he went on his annual leave after which he is expected to form an inclusive Government. (The Herald)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news/2009/2009-007.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice