22. May 2009

EC Declares Bingu Winner

The Electoral Commission (EC) has declared President Bingu wa Mutharika winner of the May 19 general election.
Chair of EC Anastansia Msosa said they decided to declare Bingu President before finalising the tabulation of all the results as those remaining would not change anything.
She said results from 93.25% of the polling stations have been tabulated and that 670,090 votes from 19 constituencies which were yet to be tabulated would not change the outcome of the election.
Msosa said the Commission has analyzed all the presidential results and complaints from all voting stations.
She said Bingu is leading with 2, 730, 630 votes, against 1, 270, 057 for John Tembo of Malawi Congress Party.
"I Anastansi Msosa with powers invested in me as chair of Malawi Electoral Commission declare Bingu wa Mutharika as President of Malawi," she said.
Dindi Gowa Nyasulu of AFROD has 19,024, James Nyondo an independent candidadte has 25,171, Stanley Masauli of the Republican Party has 31, 303, Loveness Gondwe of NARC has 29,705 and Kamuzu Chibambo has 31,960.
However, Msosa pointed out that the main challenge faced during the election was the preparation of the voters' register.
She then appealed to those that have been successful to celebrate peacefully and ensure they achieve what they have promised to the voters. (allafrica)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news/2009/2009-094.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice