April 19, 2012

South African countries establish climate change hub

Southern African countries have agreed to launch a centre to tie together climate change studies across the region. South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia signed a declaration to launch the Southern African Science Service Centre for Climate Change and Adaptive Land Management in the Namibian capital Windhoek.

Set up with €50-million in German aid, the centre will streamline regional scientific research on climate change trends and on managing natural resources to deal with them. "This initiative will bring knowledge, data, information and services generated by our own scientists with support of their colleagues from Germany," Zambian science minister John Phiri said at the launch. Research institutions of all the countries will study climate and its impact on water resources, forests, agriculture and wildlife. The centre will coordinate the research and sharing of information, with a secretariat based in Windhoek. A similar centre was recently set up among 10 West African countries, also supported and funded by Germany. (Sapa)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news/2012/2012-080.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice