15. September 2015

President Mugabe appoints new ministers

President Mugabe has appointed 14 new ministers, who are expected to talk oath of office at State House in Harare today. The cabinet reshuffle was announced by President Robert Mugabe Friday afternoon.
Mugabe swore in new ministers to fill posts left vacant following the sacking of some ministers linked to former vice president Joice Mujuru. A number of ministers were fired alongside Mujuru while others were redeployed.
Christopher Mushohwe takes over as information minister from Prisca Mupfumira who was acting following the redeployment of Jonathan Moyo to the higher and tertiary education portfolio a few months ago.
Among those sworn in are deputy ministers, Edgar Mbwembwe (Foreign Affairs); Obedingwa Mguni (Home Affairs); Barry Kachikwana (Lands and Rural Resettlement); Chris Chingosho (Local Government, Public Works and National Housing); Michael Madanhi (Transport); Adrian Masiiwa (Health); Thokozile Mathuthu (Media); Tshinga Dube (War Veterans); Annastacia Ndhlovu (Tourism); Bertha Chikwama (Lands and Resettlement); Monica Mutsvangwa (Economic Planning) and Tapuwanashe Matangaidze (Public Service).
Mugabe’s nephew Patrick Zhuwao was brought in to replace Mushohwe while Abednico Ncube becomes the new minister of rural development and reservation of national heritage.
Zanu PF chief whip Joram Gumbo becomes transport minister while Makhosini Hlongwane was appointed minister without Portfolio.
Former transport minister Obert Mpofu is now the new minister of economic planning. Simon Khaya-Moyo who was responsible for economic planning is now minister for policy coordination and promotion of socio-economic ventures in Mugabe’s office. Monica Mutsvangwa, former media deputy minister, is now Mpofu’s deputy. (Financial Gazette, Harare)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news/2015/2015-053.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice