October 2, 2002

Angola Elected UN Security Council Member

The Republic of Angola was elected on Friday, September 27, as UN Security Council non-permanent member for a two-year term with 181 votes heading the poll, as comparing to other five elect countries. A total of 192 UN member states went to the polls in which Angola cast two thirds of the votes. The UN Assembly General also elected Chile, Germany, Pakistan and Spain to join the Security Council, that groups 15 member states, for a-two year term as from January 1, 2003. The five countries were picked out by their regional groups - Africa, Asia, Latin America and Western Europe - and will replace Colombia, Ireland, Mauritius, Norway and Singapore.

Out of the 15 Security Council member states, five are permanent members (United Kingdom, China, France, Russia and the United States) and five rotative ones were elected last year until the end of 2003 - Bulgaria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Mexico and Syria.

In a separate development, the Angolan President José Eduardo dos Santos Wednesday, October 2, took over the presidency of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).

Handing over the badge that distinguishes him as SADC leader was the ceasing president of that organisation, Bakili Muluzi, the Malawian Head of State. With this act, José Eduardo dos Santos takes on the post of SADC President for 12 months and will be assisted by the Tanzanian President, who replaced Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe. Zimbabwe's role as acting deputy chair of the regional body had been expected to be formalised in Luanda. That would have made Harare the scheduled venue for next year's meeting. Instead, Zimbabwe was replaced as deputy chair by Tanzania and the 2003 gathering will be in its capital Dar es Salaam. Diplomats said this was a sign of the region's displeasure with President Robert Mugabe's policies. (ANGOLA PRESS AGENCY / ZIMBABWE INDEPENDENT)


URL: http://www.sadocc.at/news2002/2002-288.shtml
Copyright © 2018 SADOCC - Southern Africa Documentation and Cooperation Centre.
Rechtliche Hinweise / Legal notice